Complete reinstall!

My main hard drive was making funny noises for the past couple of months and it finally started to crash the computer while trying to read some sectors.  I keep regular backups so this isn’t so much of a problem.  I’ve installed a new hard drive (a full half terrabyte replacing a tenth of a terrabyte previously).

The only problem now is that I’ve had to install Windows 7 again, Avast anti-virus & Chrome, Thunderbird & Lightning, Firefox, Steam (obviously), StarcraftII (obviously), Java JDK, Eclipse IDE, Android SDK, TortoiseSVN, TortoiseHG, Microsoft Office, Printer driver, etc. etc. etc.  I won’t go on!  But I did reward myself by playing through the whole of Portal again in under 2 hours.  In comparison to Portal 2, I thought it was a lot slower than I remember.  The moving platforms were annoying after the wonderful light-bridges of Portal 2. The dialogue was still on the button, but knowing the jokes and story twists wasn’t so good the second time around.

One Response

  1. Thunderbird & lightening? Very very frightening.

Comments are closed.

