NESTA, Video Games and Computer Science Education

Debbie Timmins wonders why a graduate would choose the games industry.  I can’t fault her logic.  Sounds like I’m in the wrong job although luckily I work for one of the few companies that tries to keep its hours normal, and give time off in leiu.

http://spong.com/feature/10110315/Opinion-Why-Would-a-Graduate-Choose-the-Games-Industry

This is in response to NESTA’s report on how they want British education to generate more computer science graduates that go into video games and the visual effects industry.  The one comment I keep hearing when I mention this is: “why train more when there are no jobs?”  There is something wrong with this whole picture.  I got into this business because it is a really profitable and exciting industry but somehow the rewards have been lost (I guess to the greedy) and not put back into the system (in wages for the talented and funding for education).

http://www.psfk.com/2011/02/better-video-game-education-needed.html

