Linux Distro

A recent linux mag (Linux Format) has an article on “Build your own Distro”.  I’ve thought about doing something like this to match my interests for a few years.  Something like Gamebuntu : a distro with just games.  But there are a few of these now (e.g.live.linux-gamers.net)

To match the programming thoughts I’ve been having I thought it might be a good niche for a Young Programmers Workshop style distro.  Something that you can put onto a USB stick, plug into any PC, and get a programming workshop.  Then anything you write can be always on that USB stick.   As long as you have a PC available you have somewhere to hack around with programming.

I see it having:

  • a really small footprint; 50-200Mb.
  • a simple desktop (Enlightenment), gOS, LXDE
  • an beginners mode: First time login, get web page up and several easy to find buttons to start up the easiest of programming systems I can find (e.g. Alice or Processing or Scratch)
  • an intermediate mode: Start with an IDE – bit like the old Apple II, Commodore 64, BBC Micro days). Just start coding, compiling and running.
  • an advanced mode: just the normal linux with terminal window.  Using C++ and an IDE/SDK of choice.

At the least it will need:

  • Gcc C++
  • libSDL + support
  • Allegro
  • and more.

I feel I should avoid languages for the sake of languages: i.e. python, php, perl, etc.  I don’t really know what I’m doing but it is one of those tasks that I keep thinking about but never actually following through.

For an idea of the kind of desktop I see for this Distro – it would have a similar feel to gOS but without WINE, OpenOffice or Skype.  I’d probably keep the google gadgets and firefox to keep the PC web browser friendly.

To keep the size down it should be something like Slitaz or Pud in size.   Since I’m after light desktop, LXDE looks a good fit.

One Response

  1. […] information for the Programming of Robots and Video Games.  I said ages ago that I wanted to create my own Distro and this could be the first steps for a Beginner’s Programming […]

Comments are closed.

